How To Delete Your Facebook Account Forever?

An article explaining how to delete your Facebook account and what's the difference between deleting and deactivating your account.

880
views
A mobile phone launching the Facebook app
Image by William Iven. Source: Unsplash.

It’s very common for a lot of people to deactivate their accounts on Facebook. A lot of us, make the decision that social media is killing their life, and they want to celebrate life the way it should be celebrated. We have seen a lot of people that we know post on Facebook saying that they are going to leave this website to live their lives, you might have done it before too. Most people after making that decision go ahead and “deactivate” their account. But, did they really leave Facebook? The answer is: No!

Deactivating your account means that your profile is not accessible and no one can see or access your profiles and info, but they are still saved on Facebook servers, and you have the ability to restore your profile easily, just like nothing happened.

How to do that?

In order to do that, you have to click the account menu at the top right of any Facebook page. The account menu is a small triangle that can be found on the top right, right next to the Privacy Shortcuts menu, which is a “lock.”

Facebook Main Bar
The account menu on Facebook main bar, circled in red.

After you click on the account menu, you click on “Settings.” Later on, on the left column, you have to click on “Security.” Then, you will find “Deactivate Your Account.” Click that and follow the steps to confirm.

How to get your account back?

After you deactivate your account, you can get it back easily, all you have to do is to go to Facebook, enter the email address of the account, and enter the last password of the account, the one that you had when you deactivated it, and surprise! It’s back!

Having the ability to get your account this easy makes it tempting for a lot of people to go back to Facebook after deciding to leave this “social” life forever. But, is there something different?

Yes, there is, and that’s by “deleting” your account.

What do you need to know before you delete your account?

The main difference between “deleting” and “deactivating” your account is that after deleting, you won’t be able to reactivate your account or retrieve anything you’ve added. But, the exciting thing here is that you can download a copy of your Facebook data! Which is a must if you decide to delete your account.

To download a copy of your Facebook data, click on the account menu as we explain earlier, go to “Settings.” Go to “General” tab and from there, click on Download a copy of your Facebook data, after that, click on “Start My Archive,” and there you have it, you have a copy of your account info and data.

How to delete your account permanently?

Deleting your account is a decision that requires a lot of thinking, but if you do decide to do so, and if you download a copy of you Facebook data, you can request that by going to this address: https://www.facebook.com/help/delete_account. After you click on that link, the following page will appear:

Account deletion page
Account deletion page

All you need to do now is to click “Delete My Account,” and there you go, you have said goodbye to this world, forever!

After deleting your account, there are few things that you need to keep in mind, one of them is that people won’t be able to see your account on Facebook, but it’s not deleted immediately, it takes time, it may take up to 90 days from the beginning of the deletion process to delete all of the things you’ve posted, like your photos, status updates or other data stored in backup systems. But, while Facebook is deleting this information, it is inaccessible to other people using Facebook. Also, some of the things you do on Facebook aren’t stored in your account, so they might be accessible from other accounts. For example, a friend may still have messages from you even after you’ve deleted your account. That information remains after you delete your account because it’s stored in that friend’s account.

Have you ever thought about deleting or deactivating your Facebook account? Share your thoughts with us in the comments section and help others if you have more info!